Kharkanas Trilogy

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 109 ratings

Forge of Darkness Publisher's Summary

Steven Erikson entered the pantheon of great fantasy writers in 1999 with his debut, Gardens of the Moon. In the span of just 10 years, he completed his epic telling of the Malazan Book of the Fallen, collecting hordes of fans along the way. Now Erikson returns with a place for new listeners to enter the Malazan world, a trilogy that takes place at a time before the events of the concluded series.

Forge of Darkness takes listeners to Kurald Galain, the warren of Darkness, and tells of a realm whose fate plays a crucial role in the fall of the Malazan Empire and surrounds one of the Malazan world’s most fascinating and powerful characters, Anomander Rake. It’s a conflicted time in Kurald Galain, where Mother Dark reigns above the Tiste people. But this ancient land was once home to many a power...and even death is not quite eternal.

The commoners’ great hero, Vatha Urusander, longs for ascendency and Mother Dark’s hand in marriage, but she has taken another Consort, Lord Draconus, from the faraway Dracons Hold. The idea of this union sends fissures throughout the realm, and as the rumors of an inevitable civil war burn through the masses, something emerges from the long-dead seas. The Vitr - an ancient power that shakes the dormant and dying powers of the past. Caught in the middle of it all are the Sons of Darkness: Anomander, Andarist, and Silchas Ruin of the Purake Hold.

It’s a time of great strife as the past and the present of this warren boil with unfathomable alliances, great deceptions, and even greater passions...of both love and hate. This ancient tale within the world Erikson introduced in the Malazan Book of the Fallen should appeal to fans of George R. R. Martin for its characters and intrigue, but goes leaps further in the realm of the imagination.

©2012 Steven Erikson (P)2012 Brilliance Audio, Inc.
Show more Show less
Product list
  • Book 1, Parts 1-2

    Price: $42.97 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $42.97 or 1 Credit

  • Book 1, Part 1

    Price: $32.79 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $32.79 or 1 Credit

  • Book 1, Part 2

    Price: $32.79 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $32.79 or 1 Credit

  • Book 2

    • The Second Book in the Kharkanas Trilogy
    • Written by: Steven Erikson
    • Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
    • Length: 44 hrs and 40 mins
    • Release date: 2016-04-21
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 10 ratings

    Price: $40.99 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $40.99 or 1 Credit

  • Price: $44.73 or 1 Credit

    Sale price: $44.73 or 1 Credit

Your first free audiobook is waiting.

Your first free title is waiting.

Membership is $14.95/month + applicable taxes, first 30 days free. Cancel anytime.