Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Choisissez 1 livre audio par mois dans notre incomparable catalogue.
Écoutez à volonté des milliers de livres audio, de livres originaux et de balados.
Accédez à des promotions et à des soldes exclusifs.
L'abonnement Premium Plus se renouvelle automatiquement au tarif de 14,95 $/mois + taxes applicables après 30 jours. Annulation possible à tout moment.
Page de couverture de The Mistake

The Mistake

Auteur(s): K. L. Slater
Narrateur(s): Lucy Price-Lewis
Essayer pour 0,00 $

14,95$ par mois après 30 jours. Annulable en tout temps.

Acheter pour 21,48$

Acheter pour 21,48$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

You think you know the truth about the people you love. But one discovery can change everything....

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister, Rose. Two days later he is found dead.

Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy's death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother? Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, whom she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him...and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger....

The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top 10 best-selling author of Blink, Liar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

©2017 K. L. Slater (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Mistake

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    356
  • 4 étoiles
    212
  • 3 étoiles
    61
  • 2 étoiles
    16
  • 1 étoile
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    413
  • 4 étoiles
    142
  • 3 étoiles
    31
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    301
  • 4 étoiles
    180
  • 3 étoiles
    77
  • 2 étoiles
    20
  • 1 étoile
    11

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Classer par :
Filtrer
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't stop listening.

I thought I had it figured out, but I didn't. Rarely does an ending surprise me but this one did!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book & the Narrator is by far 1 of the best!

Well written and very well narrated. Look forward to listening to more from this author.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

If you’re looking for interesting plot twists and compelling characters, this book will deliver. It’s easy to get caught up in the drama within Rose’s life and empathy is a constant pull throughout. I really enjoyed the satisfying ending to this dramatic book.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Awkwardly-Paced But Solid Thriller

Anytime someone describes a novel as a "slow burn", they really mean "boring". The pacing in this book meets those criteria, but the best aspects of the narrative make it admirably satisfying. K.L. Slater drip-drip-drips revelations - jumping back & forth from modern-day events to a past timeline.. with nothing very much happening in either - beyond character-building and establishing the guilt complex of the intensely realistic protagonist 'Rose' (as an insecure teenager and a Bulimic adult). It gets pretty ho-hum for a reader accustomed to conventional Crime Thrillers.
Fortunately, the character development & inner dialogue are intriguing enough to make up for the lack of plot progression. 'The Mistake' is surprisingly captivating.

Doubtless superlative narration from Lucy Price-Lewis improves my impression of the book. Audible Studios provide exemplary technical support to an outstanding voice-actor. Price-Lewis's diction, timbre, cadence, and tone are all commendable.. but the voice-acting is particularly worthy of emphasis: it's appropriately subdued (in terms of using judicious accents) while remaining emotive and loaded with easily distinguishable characters. Well done all around.

This 8.5/10 star audiobook is worth your time (perfect for a long drive or a couple of snowy afternoons). I am thankful that I was able to get it as a 'Plus' selection.. because - despite a frustrating tempo - it would merit a Credit for any fan of the Psychological Suspense genre.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent writer

Even though you think you know the characters you will be surprised in the end. I found the story line strong and relatable. I very much like the narrator, clear voice and pleasant accent. I will look for more of her work.

..

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

My first listen by K L Slater. Looking forward to more. Held my interest all the way through.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Unputdownable!

This story was riveting from beginning to end. The plot, the characters, the narrator altogether created a story that was chilling and gripping.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

solid twist

I thought I had things figured out pretty early, however this book kept my interest and impressed me in the end. good story.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

The Title Won Me Over

Being a curious soul, I wondered what the mistake was. I was not disappointed either. I had no idea who the killer was right until the end.

I am familiar with the grooming process older men use on younger women, and was interested to see how she found her way out.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

not bad

it's pretty good, but the ending feels a bit abrupt, still a recommend as the overall story is enjoyable

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.