Get a free audiobook

Doing Time

Time Police, Book 1
Written by: Jodi Taylor
Narrated by: Zara Ramm
Series: The Time Police, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Introducing the Time Police, the brand-new series by international best-selling author Jodi Taylor - an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St Mary's series. Perfect listening for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde. 

A long time ago in the future, the secret of time travel became known to all. Everyone seized the opportunity - and the world nearly ended. There will always be idiots who want to change history. 

And so, the Time Police were formed. An all-powerful, international organisation tasked with keeping the timeline straight. At all costs.

Their success is legendary, and the Time Wars are over. But now the Time Police must fight to save a very different future - their own.

This is the story of Jane, Luke and Matthew - arguably the worst recruits in Time Police history. Or, very possibly, three young people who might just change everything. 

©2019 Jodi Taylor (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What the critics say

"Inventive and entertaining...a fast-paced and fun first book in what promises to be an excellent new series." (Culturefly)

What listeners say about Doing Time

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jodi Taylor and Zara Ramm Do it Again!

I just finished listening to Doing Time. I was hesitant to listen as it was after all the time police. But I must say that Jodi Taylor created a wonderful and engaging new series. I have listed to everything Jodi Taylor has written. It is all so wonderful. I cannot get enough. Also Zara Ramm makes the characters come alive. I cannot image anyone else performing these characters. Love the combination of this author and this narrator. It makes a magical combination.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Funny and enjoyable. Love the narrator
the story line flows and make me laugh out loud

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The story wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.

I really wanted to enjoy this book. I love the idea of time travel books and liked the synopsis of the book. The actual story was too slow paced and meandering. It did not live up to my expectations. For me it fell short.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Brutis
  • 2020-05-03

Good Teenager Book

I quit on this book but only because it is a book for teenagers. I'm sure everyone else new but I didn't. I would recommend it to teenagers in my family but at 60 it's not a book for me.

67 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • AB
  • 2020-03-26

Entertaining, but mediocre

The writer has a good sense of humor and there is potential here for this to be a really solid book, but her plotting and overall tone fall short. It’s written more like an audition for a B grade TV series.

One reviewer mentioned that this was a bit like Jasper Fforde, and while I get the reference, Fforde is far superior at moving the plot forward, keeping the reader interested, and adding a little bit more depth to his books.

36 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 2020-02-29

Can't wait for the next one!

I love the St. Mary's stories, and I wasn't sure that I would like a book centered on the Time Police, since the St. Mary's crew don't have much use for them. But this was wonderful, with Jodi Taylor's unique humor, very likable central characters and an interesting plot. . (It's great to see the grown-up Matthew.)

If you enjoy the Chronicles of St. Mary's, don't hesitate. Get this audiobook (Zara Ramm is one of the best narrators ever), and have a great time visiting this world.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 2020-03-04

Another great series by Jodi Taylor

Full disclosure: I was not sure I would like this series when I heard about it.
Fuller disclosure: I was really wrong! This was a LOT of fun.
We follow three very different inductees into the ranks of the Time Police.
One would expect that this would naturally center on a known character of Matthew Farrell.
While Matthew is one of the core trio, he gets the least spotlight.
This turns out to be an excellent way of getting to know the other stars of the story, Jane and Luke.
Both start out as nearly cringe worthy characters that you would not really want to spend time with.
They soon grow into respectable characters that you end up cheering for. There is action, mystery, a large portion of comedy, and a walloping helping of heart here.

Zara Ramm does her usual excellent job with the narration. All in all, this was a great start of a wonderful new and addictive series. Now if we can get Jodi to work even longer hours...


Highly recommended.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • j. humphries
  • 2020-02-28

Jodi Taylor is amazing!!!

I didn’t believe Jodi could write anything I loved as much as her St. Mary’s books. I was wrong. She has hit it out of the park and I firetrucking love it!!!!!!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-06-07

Poor effort

I dearly loved the St. Marys series and was looking forward to this new series. So disappointing. There is no reality in the psychology of the characters. People do not act the way these major characters are portrayed.
The series idea had vast potential, unrequited in its execution.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-05-28

love the reader

This narrator made you forget someone was reading and allowed the story to take on a life of its own.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Quinn
  • 2020-02-28

New Series!

Not disappointed by Jodi’s new series! A must listen for all St. Mary’s fans! Looking forward to the next book.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gwendolen
  • 2020-03-25

A wonderful lesson. I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I do

I love this book as much as all of the other others by Jodi Taylor I am sad that I finished it and hope she writes more about the time police and the changes going on there. In this time of Quarantine doing time has given me a great deal of pleasure.

Thanks

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jimmy Henderson
  • 2020-05-24

Too confusing for me

I thought it was too difficult to follow while driving. It may be better on a second listening, but I may not get back to it.

6 people found this helpful