Get a free audiobook

Doing Time

Time Police, Book 1
Written by: Jodi Taylor
Narrated by: Zara Ramm
Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Introducing the Time Police, the brand-new series by international best-selling author Jodi Taylor - an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St Mary's series. Perfect listening for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde. 

A long time ago in the future, the secret of time travel became known to all. Everyone seized the opportunity - and the world nearly ended. There will always be idiots who want to change history. 

And so, the Time Police were formed. An all-powerful, international organisation tasked with keeping the timeline straight. At all costs.

Their success is legendary, and the Time Wars are over. But now the Time Police must fight to save a very different future - their own.

This is the story of Jane, Luke and Matthew - arguably the worst recruits in Time Police history. Or, very possibly, three young people who might just change everything. 

©2019 Jodi Taylor (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What the critics say

"Inventive and entertaining...a fast-paced and fun first book in what promises to be an excellent new series." (Culturefly)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Funny and enjoyable. Love the narrator
the story line flows and make me laugh out loud

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jodi Taylor and Zara Ramm Do it Again!

I just finished listening to Doing Time. I was hesitant to listen as it was after all the time police. But I must say that Jodi Taylor created a wonderful and engaging new series. I have listed to everything Jodi Taylor has written. It is all so wonderful. I cannot get enough. Also Zara Ramm makes the characters come alive. I cannot image anyone else performing these characters. Love the combination of this author and this narrator. It makes a magical combination.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The story wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.

I really wanted to enjoy this book. I love the idea of time travel books and liked the synopsis of the book. The actual story was too slow paced and meandering. It did not live up to my expectations. For me it fell short.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MJ
  • 2020-02-29

Can't wait for the next one!

I love the St. Mary's stories, and I wasn't sure that I would like a book centered on the Time Police, since the St. Mary's crew don't have much use for them. But this was wonderful, with Jodi Taylor's unique humor, very likable central characters and an interesting plot. . (It's great to see the grown-up Matthew.)

If you enjoy the Chronicles of St. Mary's, don't hesitate. Get this audiobook (Zara Ramm is one of the best narrators ever), and have a great time visiting this world.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • j. humphries
  • 2020-02-28

Jodi Taylor is amazing!!!

I didn’t believe Jodi could write anything I loved as much as her St. Mary’s books. I was wrong. She has hit it out of the park and I firetrucking love it!!!!!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Quinn
  • 2020-02-28

New Series!

Not disappointed by Jodi’s new series! A must listen for all St. Mary’s fans! Looking forward to the next book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Hall-Brown
  • 2020-02-27

So fun and amazing!

What a fun and wonderful story. Keep them coming but don’t forget to insert our “family” from St. Mary’s!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • AB
  • 2020-03-26

Entertaining, but mediocre

The writer has a good sense of humor and there is potential here for this to be a really solid book, but her plotting and overall tone fall short. It’s written more like an audition for a B grade TV series.

One reviewer mentioned that this was a bit like Jasper Fforde, and while I get the reference, Fforde is far superior at moving the plot forward, keeping the reader interested, and adding a little bit more depth to his books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MDW
  • 2020-03-07

Too short!!

I could listen to the adventures of the weirdos for many more hours. Looking forward to the next installment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KMK89
  • 2020-04-02

Loved it

I love the Saint Mary’s Chronicles!! And I love this new series can’t wait for the next one!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • 2020-03-28

Excellent! Sign me up for more.

I loved the St. Mary's books but this was just as fun. The characters get you hooked and the story just hums along. What a fun read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Randolph
  • 2020-03-26

She is a great writer

Love the stories and the reader. I have been following her story line for quite some time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • gwendolen
  • 2020-03-25

A wonderful lesson. I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I do

I love this book as much as all of the other others by Jodi Taylor I am sad that I finished it and hope she writes more about the time police and the changes going on there. In this time of Quarantine doing time has given me a great deal of pleasure.

Thanks