Listen free for 30 days

  • Doing Time

  • Time Police, Book 1
  • Written by: Jodi Taylor
  • Narrated by: Zara Ramm
  • Length: 12 hrs and 28 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (66 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Doing Time cover art

Doing Time

Written by: Jodi Taylor
Narrated by: Zara Ramm
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.96

Buy Now for $25.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Introducing the Time Police, the brand-new series by international best-selling author Jodi Taylor - an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St Mary's series. Perfect listening for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde. 

A long time ago in the future, the secret of time travel became known to all. Everyone seized the opportunity - and the world nearly ended. There will always be idiots who want to change history. 

And so, the Time Police were formed. An all-powerful, international organisation tasked with keeping the timeline straight. At all costs.

Their success is legendary, and the Time Wars are over. But now the Time Police must fight to save a very different future - their own.

This is the story of Jane, Luke and Matthew - arguably the worst recruits in Time Police history. Or, very possibly, three young people who might just change everything. 

©2019 Jodi Taylor (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What the critics say

"Inventive and entertaining...a fast-paced and fun first book in what promises to be an excellent new series." (Culturefly)

What listeners say about Doing Time

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen

Funny and enjoyable. Love the narrator
the story line flows and make me laugh out loud

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great fun

Adventure, humour, great character development and history. Perfect!. Listened to this book over a couple of days as I didn't want to put it down. Cleaning, cooking, walking the dogs and storytime in bed.... Time for book 2 in the series!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jodi Taylor and Zara Ramm Do it Again!

I just finished listening to Doing Time. I was hesitant to listen as it was after all the time police. But I must say that Jodi Taylor created a wonderful and engaging new series. I have listed to everything Jodi Taylor has written. It is all so wonderful. I cannot get enough. Also Zara Ramm makes the characters come alive. I cannot image anyone else performing these characters. Love the combination of this author and this narrator. It makes a magical combination.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story!

One of the scariest parts of a book full of fun adventures: “and then the light flickered…”. Love this book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not a Fan

Lighthearted or irritating? For me it was firmly the latter. The humour in the judgy comments about life on a council estate, fat characters or the bullying and general unprofessionalism and mysogny, just exasperated me. I understand that we were to warm to the flawed characters; the three bumbling trainees were not endearing, and Luke was appalling. It was unfortunate that Jane alluded to the murder mystery part of the novel to being like Agatha Christie as this novel cannot stand up to even that fleeting comparison.

The novel did improve, the last 2/3rd of the book was better than the beginning, but this did not give anything new to the genre.

With so many high ratings I had high expectations, but this novel did not land with me. I will not be reading any more in the series.

Narration was good

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The story wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.

I really wanted to enjoy this book. I love the idea of time travel books and liked the synopsis of the book. The actual story was too slow paced and meandering. It did not live up to my expectations. For me it fell short.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!