Listen free for 30 days

  • Road to Mastery

  • A LitRPG Apocalypse Adventure
  • Written by: Valerios
  • Narrated by: Jeremy Frazier
  • Length: 30 hrs and 6 mins
  • 3.7 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Road to Mastery cover art

Road to Mastery

Written by: Valerios
Narrated by: Jeremy Frazier
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $37.53

Buy Now for $37.53

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Alone. Surrounded by monsters. Armed only with his fists... Time to fight.

Jack Rust was a disillusioned biologist with a PhD—almost. When an extraterrestrial AI calling itself the System invaded Earth and thrust it into a world of aliens, magic, and violence, Jack hoped to at least get some magic himself.

Nope.

Even worse, the System spawned a forest dungeon around him and a goblin in his face....

Armed with nothing but his fists, Jack must grow strong enough to survive hordes of monsters. He needs to return to civilization and find out what the heck is going on. He might even get magic—or not. Surprising himself, Jack discovers that violence is fun.

In this battle-ridden new world, Jack finds the life he always dreamed about. He won’t just survive. He will thrive.

Don't miss the start of this action-packed new LitRPG Apocalypse series from Valerios. Join Jack the brawler as he pummels everything that gets in his way with his fists on his road to mastery and power. It's perfect for fans of Primal Hunter, Defiance of the Fall, and lovers of all things progression fantasy and LitRPG.

©2023 Aethon Books (P)2023 Aethon Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Road to Mastery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

this was one giant joke

Clearly a satire of the LitRPG genre, taking all the crazy tropes and dialing that to 11. The main character is just so good, I mean the novel is so tongue and cheek how can't you love it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible…….just Terrible!

I don’t generally give reviews, but to be honest my impression is the author is between 13-15 years old. I had to wait for half the book to give a review and I’ll give you my opinion. Don’t waste your money! To much internal monologging. The throwing out the odd swear to look like your cool just made me shake my head. To compare this to Defiance of the fall was a laugh. The narrative tried, but When a 3 dressed up as nine is obvious nothing can make this give a good listen. Lacks anything interesting in abilities/ skills, story is weak.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

30 hours of Memeing

The author is more concerned with memeing than with developing the story, the world, or the characters. The supposedly smart analytical MC literally bumbles through most of his encounters and decisions but always comes out on top with no lasting consequences. The narrator does their best to make the material that is there engaging, and is probably the only reason I managed to suffer through the entire thing. Clearly inspired by Defiance of the Fall, but failed to understand that it was the setbacks and mistakes that Zac makes in the first book that makes him a more engaging protagonist. If you are thinking of picking this up because it's similar to Defiance of the Fall I'd recommend giving it a pass. it's inspired by it but lacks anything that makes it really engaging.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful