Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A secret buried in the Antarctic. A puzzle unsolved for thousands of years.

And a Brooklyn-born master gunnery sergeant who's royally pissed that he has to babysit the researchers sent to figure it all out. Patrick "Wic" Finnegan's last op as a Marine Raider before retirement sends him to the frozen Ellsworth Subglacial Highlands. The only reason he's here? He owes a favor to an old friend, but that doesn't mean he has to like it. 

When Wic finally sees what the team has uncovered, he can't believe his eyes, nor is he prepared for the violence to come. Soon, the portal opens and unleashes a storm of unbridled fury upon humanity. 

From the Antarctic tundra to the streets of Manhattan, Wic and his team will be pushed to their limits as they fight to hold back Earth's ultimate threat. The odds are against them. Governments are toppling. And the Earth is falling into ruin. 

Join best-selling authors Christopher Hopper and J.N. Chaney on what audiences call a "nonstop, break-neck thrill ride into metaspace". For fans of District 9, Expeditionary Force, and Galaxy's Edge, this is one military sci-fi thriller you won't be able to put down, and the official beginning to the hit series Ruins of the Galaxy.

©2020 Variant Publications (P)2021 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Ruins of the Earth

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hesitant on all 5's

overall this is a solid listen, the story, nothing you could imagine, needs, bureaucrats, and a good old master Sgt that just offers a SHIT TONNE (metric system is the best BTW) of street cred to the protagonist. some similarities to other reads , expeditionary force for example, but with enough differences to make it unique and interesting... I really couldn't put it down

RC does a good job of hammering down John Cleese in the beginning, but looses it a bit, but his characterization and voicing of women has always impressed me.

solid book if your a member of the MBOP, I think you'll like it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the start of this prequel series!

Action packed story, with well-developed characters that you remember and enjoy. Looking forward to the next book in the series!

RC Bray delivers his usual awesome narration for this book!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

what a steaming turd

Started off fine, great narrator of course. Then a talking, whimsical, slapstick, monty python spewing, alien gun....yeah...appears. it was so fu..... stupid after that. I returned it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love it

Can't wait for book 2 I really enjoy it the story line is very good.. can't wait for book 2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OTA - Own The Audiobook!

Love the galaxy series and I am now in love with the Earth series. Characters are solid. Story is solid. Humor is on point. Action is non stop. R C Bray is well, doesn't even need to be said. Book is great! Finger poised waiting for pre-purchase buttons on following books to appear.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MLT78
  • 2021-03-30

Suspenseful military story with great characters.

This book series is part of the RUINS (Ruins of the Galaxy) book universe. This book can be read before or after you have read the other series. This series is starting off with more focus on the “military” aspect of the mil sci-fi than Ruins of the Galaxy.

It is written in a way that keeps the suspense high. It is gritty at times and has an incredibly “realistic feel” for it being sci-fi.

The characters are done very well. They are interesting, realistic, quirky, flawed, and entertaining. Each one seems unique, has depth, and we already see some character development in book one. Many sci-fi books focus on story rather than character development but this book equally places importance on both.

A fun start to a new series!

And RC Bray kills it as usual.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Steve Janulin
  • 2021-03-30

The bar has been raised!!!

Unlike most Sci-Fi thrillers, this one takes place right here in our own back yard. Starting at the South Pole, moving through the rural country side of eastern Pensylvania, through New Jersey, Staten Island, and into the heart of Manhattan. The author has spared no detail to make you feel as if you are right there in the middle of all the action.

With a new batch of characters, and very authentic action scenes, mixed with humor and twists and turns, this book will keep you on edge from start until finish.

Topped with the voice talents of the legendary R.C. Bray, this is one thrill ride you absolutely do not want to miss.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eric
  • 2021-03-31

Bray is King

Once again, RC Bray graces us with his stupendous vocal talents. Prepare yourselves, Monkeys! Another adventure is upon us, but this time it's a whole new universe. And boy, what a story. I love the ancient civilization stuff, the aliens, and the mystery of Antarctica. Can't get enough!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • General Tso
  • 2021-04-02

Expeditionary Force, but completely on Earth

Even has Skippy the Magnificent! Um... I mean, "Sir Chuck the gun".

As always, RC Bray is amazing.

However I expect the authors either got Craig Alanson's permission or are expecting a law suit.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-03-31

A thrill ride

Chaney, Hopper, and Bray are a solid mix. I've been reading Chaney's stuff for two years and every series is a home run. This was no different. Great to finally hear Bray's treatment, and boy does he deliver the goods. I'm looking forward to the next one already. In the meantime, I plan to re-listen to Renegade Star.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jeremy Korpi
  • 2021-04-06

I really wanted to like this.

Imagine if Craig Alanson wrote expeditionary force while in middle school. Same characters, same basic plot, just not as good. if not for RC Bray, I think I would have turned it off. I will not be continuing this series.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mikey72
  • 2021-03-31

If you Love ExForce, you will LOVVVVVE Ruins!!

I just got it and can't stop listening - and it's my end-of-quarter at work! If you love ExForce, you will REALLLLY love ROTE. RC Bray is pushing ALL the buttons that make me love ExForce (Action Packed, Creative SciFi, and FUNNNY!) with a lot of new twists and characters you will care about. I read the book twice and now RC Bray is doubling the fun. Hopper and Chaney hit another home run. Maybe Sir Chuckles would use a cricket analogy - but great stuff!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jesse
  • 2021-04-06

Duuuuude

This book caught me by total surprise. It’s probably my favorite new military sci-fi. And I’m a Galaxy Edge fan. It’s definitely the best book R. C. Bray has narrated. Oh...the story. One part Stargate SG1, one part Savage Wars, one part Ruins of the Galaxy, shaken and brilliance is made. Serve with ice and enjoy. 10/10. KTF.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • rob stover
  • 2021-04-05

Plagiarism? Or Skippy & Nagatha light.

You get a few hours into this otherwise promising story and run head first into an AI character amazingly similar to Skippy/Nagatha from another series by C. Alanson. Oops! So I am returning the book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-04-04

Disappointed

Stereotypical characters and predictable events made this book difficult to listen to . If it wasn’t for R.C Bray’s excellent narration I would have turned it off.

3 people found this helpful