Regular price: CDN$ 21.48

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Three years ago Toni's five-year-old daughter, Evie, disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself - and a devastating truth.

Toni's mind is trapped in a world of silence. Her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible: she must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.

Please note that the last chapter of this audiobook was missing on release. This has been rectified and the full audio made available as of 28 February 2017.

©2017 KMW Enterprises Limited (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was oK!

Bought this as a daily deal, and glad I didn’t spend a full credit. It was definitely interesting enough to keep me listening and liked that I couldn’t guess the ending right away. #Audible1

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read

#Audible1 , I enjoyed listening to this thriller. The story is good but not gripping. The performance is pretty good

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Detailed

I felt like I was just listening to someone's life most if the time, and not a very happy one. This was marked as a thriller, it really isn't. There was a lot of backstory and then the end was a Scooby Doo ending that seemed rushed and utterly random. I feel like there wasn't an editor on this book at all as that should have been flagged. Besides that, it was ok.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Plot Holes but well Narrated

Weak story line and plot holes. Honestly don't understand the high ratings given by other people.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining!

The narrator was wonderful, looking forward to my next Price-Lewis read. the story was predictable but kept me entertained to the last page. recommend to others!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it....

Really enjoyed this book a fantastic storyline, real life feel, gritty and suspenseful. i would recommend this book to anyone who loves a twist in the tale 😊

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michelle Harder
  • 2017-05-09

Entertaining

Right up until the end, I enjoyed it, so I'll give 4 stars. To me, the journey is just as important as the destination, and I found that I enjoyed the story even if not the payoff so much. The end felt rushed and a little forced...like trying too hard for the big twist...only the big twist wasn't really that big. In order for the twist to work well for me, there has to be adequate foreshadowing and clues along the way for me to look back and think OMG, why didn't I see that?!!! The twists in this either came out of left field or were too obvious. One more nit, which is wrapped up with the big twist is that the villain explained themself. I hate that. It's such an overused and cliched device in mystery/thrillers that it has begun to throw me out of the story every time I come across it. I can suspend disbelief for a story if it's something fresh, but I cannot suspend disbelief that every villain always gets the opportunity to spill their guts at the moment they are caught out, giving away all of their motives and methods in one long vitriolic diatribe. I've stopped reading books at the end when it happens, it irks me so much. This particular villain's rant was so close to the very end that I went ahead and finished....which, again, the end was just so rushed and sloppy that it didn't take long. In short: worth the read if you, like me, are ok with being entertained for the duration of the story even when the end is weak.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 2017-11-08

I LOVE K.L. Slater!!

I have been listening to what I am 'hungry' for lately. Ever since I listened to my first K.L. Slater book, I have been hungry for more! LIAR actually shocked me- I honestly was clueless to how it would end- and Slater loves to confuse and surprise her readers. Blink is no exception to her pattern.

Slater's normal writing style introduces characters 'now' and 'years ago.' She writes from the beginning and the end, and solves the issues somewhere in the middle of the characters' story. The style is brilliant, and it takes the reader's (listener's) full concentration to piece things together. I love her style of writing and I daresay that she has officially become one of my favourite authors.

Blink is the story of a woman who is laying in a coma. We don't know why or how, or even who she is. The doctors are going to shut off her life support, but she can still hear them- she can't move to tell them. You'd think that would be exciting/heart racing enough of a story base, but Slater takes it 15 steps further. We learn all about what's happened to several women, from three years ago to the present- and eventually who the woman in the coma is and how she ties in with a child abduction.

This book kept me guessing. I couldn't wait to listen more. I devoured it and I loved it- this author has yet to disappoint me and I am addicted to her style.

-Wendi

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eileen
  • 2018-02-18

Great narration!

This was a good mystery, very well written and the narrator is flawless. I actually think the narrator bumps up the ratings on this book. The reason I say that is because I hated the main character, I almost stopped listening because I found her whiny and difficult to sympathize with. The narrator saved me from that, she’s delightful, and toward the last quarter of the book I was glad I did. It got much better, things started to fall in place and the ending was solid. The jumping back 3 years to present just about every other chapter was difficult to keep up with and contributed to my 3 star on the storyline but others may not feel that way. Overall this is a solid 4 star book when you consider the excellent narration!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Paula Pacitti
  • 2018-01-02

Blink

To confusing, not very interesting. Wish it had started out better. I would not listen to it again, or read the book.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Donna
  • 2017-12-13

Very Slow Moving and silly ending

This book was slow and rather confusing... The ending was ridiculous and ended very abruptly.The idea of the twist was good because it lead you away from the main characters that you would have suspected, but when the twist is explained it was silly and rather far fetching... The book itself moves painfully slow and quite boring. It had potential but the premise of the twist killed this book. The narrator does a good job. I wouldn't waste a credit on this book....

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Prose
  • 2017-04-09

Ending was a disappointment/ Spoiler Alert

I enjoyed the book as far as it pulled me through , making me want to know more. But the ending was such a disappointment because 1, I felt that the author got sick of writing and quickly wrote through an ending so that she could put it to bed. Two, such a big deal was made out of her taking the sedatives through the entire book, only for the ending to make like it was no big deal at all. There were many characters who could have been the kidnapper. The writer did a good job at making me wonder who it could have been. But at the end I was so let down, because the true kidnapper(s) were not even suggested that they could have been the ones. I felt a bit tricked. I felt like the author was having a little party and the reader was not invited. I gave it five stars because it did keep me interested, I just was disappointed at how the author did the ending as if on a whim.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shenise Ramdeen
  • 2017-06-07

Complete waste

Bought this thinking based on the great reviews and was greatly disappointed. This was a waste of a credit.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • CMiles1985
  • 2017-11-21

Ugh!

I am so bummed to say I did not like this book. Every K.L Slater book I have read in the past, I have loved.
I could not get into this book. I would be listening to it.... and suddenly realize I had listened for 5 chapters and had not taken in one word.
So then I would go back 5 chapters and try again.
I really wanted to like this book. I am not sure why I could not get into it. Maybe it was to bla, and predictable for me. I was very disappointed about it though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2018-09-16

Few chapters worth it!

I really enjoyed the different characters perspectives and it wasn’t easy to figure out who is the bad guy since it made you suspect everyone. It was slow towards the middle but got good at the end.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Michelle
  • 2018-08-20

I thought it would be more suspenseful.

The storyline was alright but the end seems a bit forced like the author wrote themselves into a pickle and didn't know how to properly unravel the mystery. I like the performance of the narrator. As far as mysteries go I wasn't bored, but I don't think I'd recommend.